Databases

Auto Repair Reference Center

Auto Repair Reference Center

The Auto Repair Reference Center has information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, covering more than 37,000 vehicles from 1954 to present. Auto IQ provides video and visual aids to demonstrate how various automotive systems work. In-depth sections on regular maintenance, repair and troubleshooting make ARRC an indespensible resource. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

BookFlix

Scholastic BookFlix is an online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction from Children’s Press and other trusted Scholastic imprints. This engaging resource for children in grades pre-K through 3 helps early readers develop and practice essential reading skills and introduce them to a world of knowledge and exploration. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

FreedomFlix

Scholastic FreedomFlix is an online resource that transforms content from the highly successful Cornerstones of Freedom series into enhanced eBooks. All the eBooks are supported with a deep and diverse reservoir of related content and primary sources featuring videos, audio, images, and text. FreedomFlix helps students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of important historical topics, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

KnowLA

KnowLA is the free encyclopedia of Louisiana History with multimedia sections on Louisiana art, architecture, folklife, history, literature and music. Search more than 60 collections including the Library of Congress, Tulane University, New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Foundation, Louisiana Folklife Center, Louisiana State University, Louisiana State Museum and State Library of Louisiana with this easy-to-navigate, richly illustrated database. A FREE service from the Louisiana Endowment For The Humanities!

LearnFree.org

More than 750 free classes and 250 tutorial videos covering subjects ranging from technology (Microsoft Office, computer and tablet basics, Internet and social media skills, and career planning skills) to reading (from beginners to advanced, and English as a second language) and math (everything from the basics of how to count money through creating your own spreadsheets). A FREE service through Goodwill Community Foundation.

Learning Express Library

Includes more than a dozen Learning Center resources for students of all ages, from kindergarten through adulthood. Take FREE online courses to increase your computer skills, software knowledge or job skills. Take FREE practice exams to increase your SAT, ACT, GED scores. Gain valuable job skills and prepare for professional licensing programs including civil service, military aptitude, commercial driver’s license, law enforcement, nursing, real estate, teacher’s certification, and more. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

Louisiana Library Connection

More than 30 additional databases provided statewide to Louisiana residents through public libraries, including AudioBookCloud (free streaming audiobooks), Britannica eBooks, EBSCOHost eBooks, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Learning Express Library, Louisiana Digital Library (more than 144,000 photographs, maps, and documents pertaining to Louisiana history), Louisiana Jobs and Career Center (job search and training resources), Newsbank and dozens more. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

Mango Languages

Foreign language instruction in nearly 50 languages and dialects including Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, Arabic (three dialects!), Chinese (two dialects), Japanese, Hebrew, Swedish, and many more. Also includes fifteen ESL (English as a second language) courses for non-English speakers. Translation services and a helpful technical support center round out this incredible language resource. Requires Flash plugin and sound. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

Power My Learning

Terrific index of FREE interactive activities for students K-12 including all levels of math, language arts, science, social studies, art & music, technology, world languages, careers, college, personal finance, goal setting and more! Includes popular tools like Wordle, Animal Universe, Digital Dialects, Algebra Meltdown, Scratch Video Game Designer, Microsoft Small Basic, and dozens of others. All activities and resources are indexed by grade and ability levels and linked to the Common Core Curriculum educational standards.

Salem Health

Explore the resources of the Salem Press health database, with hundreds of articles and illustrations on human health and medicine. Reference sets include: Cancer, Genetics, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Psychology & Mental Health, and the 6th Edition of Magill’s Medical Guide. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

Salem History

Explore the resources of the Salem Press history database, with hundreds of articles, photographs, maps and drawings. Reference sets include: Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Decades (American history from 1930-2000), Cancer, Genetics, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Psychology & Mental Health, and the 6th Edition of Magill’s Medical Guide. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

Salem Literature

Search more than 10,000 plot summaries and critical analyses of classic literary works, including key characters and themes, in Masterplots. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

Salem Science

Browse eight valuable science databases at once including Applied Science, Earth Science (Earth’s Surface & History, Physics & Chemistry of the Earth), Forensic Science, The Solar System, and the Encylopedia of Environmental Issues, Encyclopedia of Global Resources, and Encyclopedia of Global Warming. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

TrueFlix

Scholastic TrueFlix is an online resource that helps students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process. All of the True Book titles are supported with a deep and diverse reservoir of related content and primary sources featuring videos, audio, images, and text. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

World Book Online

Wikipedia is fantastic, but now you have the ENTIRE World Book encyclopedia at your fingertips thanks to this online portal provided by your public library. Sections include the Info Finder search which includes recent news, current newspaper articles, an interactive map of Earth, research tools and the Biography Center with more than 10,000 biographies — all from the trusted and verified sources at World Book. There’s also a powerful Reference Center with helpful computer skills, life skills and job skills tutoring, an index of state and federal government resources, and many timelines which illustrate historical trends across the entire encyclopedia. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.